Label: Sugar Hill, MCA

The Treacherous Three were somewhat late to the party when it came to hip-hop artists releasing albums. Sugar Hill released their full-length debut in 1984, but they’d been together since the ‘70s, and had been issuing singles since 1980, the year of the landmark “New Rap Language” (with former member Spoonie Gee) and “Body Rock.”

Nothing on The Treacherous Three left as big a mark as those songs, but the LP still displayed the enormous talent of Special K, LA Sunshine and especially Kool Moe Dee, who was just a couple years away from his breakout as a solo artist. Every track on the album is in the 6-7 minute range, and other than the cheeseball sung bridge on “Whip It,” the trio’s well rehearsed back-and-forth rhyme routines dominate the proceedings. —Al Shipley