Kobe Bryant Named as 2020 Basketball Hall of Fame Finalist

Tim Duncan, Kevin Garnett, and Tamika Catchings were also named as finalist.

hof kobe

LOS ANGELES, CA - APRIL 13: Kobe Bryant #24 of the Los Angeles Lakers reacts before taking on the Utah Jazz at Staples Center on April 13, 2016 in Los Angeles, California. NOTE TO USER: User expressly acknowledges and agrees that, by downloading and or using this photograph, User is consenting to the terms and conditions of the Getty Images License Agreement. (Photo by Harry How/Getty Images)

hof kobe

Lakers legend Kobe Bryant, who died on Jan. 26 in a helicopter crash, has been named a finalist for the 2020 Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. Tim Duncan, Kevin Garnett, and retired WNBA player Tamika Catchings were also announced as finalists.

Your 2020 Basketball Hall of Fame Finalists. #20HoopClass pic.twitter.com/FC5vjUyHdG

NBA coach Rudy Tomjanovich, Baylor coach Kim Mulkey, men's college coach Eddie Sutton, and NCAA women’s basketball coach Barbara Stevens were also on the list of finalists.

"When the nominees for the Class of 2020 were announced in December, we knew this class had the potential of being one of the most historic of all time,” Jerry Colangelo, Chairman of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame, said in a statement. "The untimely passing of Kobe Bryant has left us in a state of reflective mourning and we're proud to honor his legacy while also recognizing seven other individuals who have meant so much to our game. We congratulate our finalists and those who have supported them on their journeys."

Congratulations to 18x @NBAAllStar, 5x @NBA Champion and 2x NBA Finals MVP #20HoopClass finalist Kobe Bryant. pic.twitter.com/92LKIEfutF

The class of 2020 is scheduled to be announced in April.

In addition to news of the HoF finalists, it was revealed that Jim Gray is the winner of the inaugural Insight Media Award Winner. Mike Breen will recieve the Curt Gowdy Media Award for electronic media while ESPN's Michael Wilbon will get the same award for print. TNT's Inside the NBA was named the winner of the Transformative Media Award. 

Congratulations to the inaugural Insight Media Award Winner Jim Gray. #GowdyAward pic.twitter.com/Kg75QLRez8
Congratulations to the inaugural Transformative Media Award Winner TNT’s Inside the NBA. #GowdyAward pic.twitter.com/HHqthB9BhF

Latest in Sports