This year's All-Star Game will feature lifetime acheivement spots. The NBA has announced that Dwyane Wade and Dirk Nowitzki have been selected by Commmissioner Adam Silver as "special team roster additions" for the upcoming game in Charlotte. 

"Dirk Nowitzki and Dwyane Wade embody the best of the NBA: remarkable skill, drive and professionalism as well as a deep devotion to strengthening their communities and growing the game around the world,” Silver said.  “As a global celebration of basketball, our All-Star Game is an ideal setting to salute these first-class NBA champions and Finals MVPs.”

The All-Star team rosters are handpicked by team captains. Wade and Nowitzki will get their own third round for captains LeBron James and Giannis Antetokounmpo to select. As it stands now, LeBron and Giannis will select 10 starters in the first round, 12 reserves in the second round and either Wade or Nowitzki in the third. 

Nowitzki is in his 21st season with Dallas and is tied with Robert Parish and Kevin Garnett for most NBA seasons played. Wade has made the All-Star team 12 times over 15 seasons in the NBA. Dirk hasn't announced when he'll call it quits, but Wade has said that this will be his last season.