James Blake's New Album 'Assume Form' f/ Travis Scott and André 3000 Due Out This Month (UPDATE)

James Blake's new album also features Metro Boomin, Moses Sumney, and ROSALÍA.

james blake

Image via Getty/Scott Dudelson

james blake

UPDATED 1/10/19 10:40 a.m. ET: James Blake has officially announced his new album, Assume Form, as well as shared the tracklist that confirms the previously rumored features. What's more, the project is coming sooner than anticipated: Jan. 18.

Check out the full tracklist below and pre-order Assume Formhere.

1. Assume Form
2. Mile High (Ft. Travis Scott & Metro Boomin)
3. Tell Them (Ft. Moses Sumney & Metro Boomin)
4. Into the Red
5. Barefoot in the Park (Ft. ROSALÍA)
6. Can’t Believe the Way We Flow
7. Are You in Love?
8. Where’s the Catch? (Ft. André 3000)
9. I’ll Come Too
10. Power On
11. Don’t Miss It
12. Lullaby for My Insomniac

See original story published on 1/3/19 below.

James Blake has a penchant for surprise-dropping absolute stunners. According to some sleuths on Reddit, we might be in for another Blake album on short notice. 

They found a French Amazon page that seems to indicate that Blake's new album Assume Form will drop on January 25. Before the page was pulled, excited fans noted that the album will feature guest spots from neo-flamenco artist ROSALÍA, André 3000, Moses Sumney, Travis Scott and Metro Boomin.

Blake's choice of co-conspirators make sense. He has worked in André 3000's orbit before, when he was all over Frank Ocean's Blond. The Travis connection came from his work on songs like "Stop Trying To Be God." Moses Sumney opened for Blake when he was last touring. While Blake hasn't worked with ROSALÍA in an official capacity in the past, he is a huge fan. 

The new @rosaliavt album just what the actual afjhkhhhhhdiquyhqkzjdhjsnbahjkbbsbdhsjajbaFfdfffdffffffffffffffffffff

— James Blake (@jamesblake) November 2, 2018

Assume Form would be Blake's first album since 2016's The Colour In Anything. He released that album with just a day's notice, so it's not exactly out of character for him to release a new LP without much warning. Take a look at the reported track list below (via Stereogum): 

1. “Assume Form”
2. “Mile High”
3. “Tell Them”
4. “Into The Red”
5. “Barefoot In The Park”
6. “Can’t Believe The Way We Flow”
7. “Are You In Love?”
8. “Where’s The Catch?”
9. “I’ll Come Too”
10. “Power On”
11. “Don’t Miss It”
12. “Lullaby For My Insomniac”

We have reached out to Blake's representative for comment and will update this story if we hear back.

Latest in Music