Notorious B.I.G., Whitney Houston, and Soundgarden Among 2020 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Nominees

This is Biggie's first year of eligibility.


Image via Getty/Chris Walter/WireImage


The Notorious B.I.G., Whitney Houston, and Soundgarden are among the first-time nominees in the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame's newly announced Class of 2020.

"It's an incredibly talented list of 16—some returning, some nominated for the first time ever," Rock Hall president and CEO Greg Harris said Tuesday. "Congratulations to these 2020 nominees."

See the full list of 2020 nominees below, which includes several artists (i.e. Nine Inch Nails) who've been nominated in the past but not yet inducted. 

  • Pat Benatar
  • Dave Matthews Band
  • Depeche Mode
  • The Doobie Brothers
  • Whitney Houston
  • Judas Priest
  • Kraftwerk
  • MC5
  • Motörhead
  • Nine Inch Nails
  • The Notorious B.I.G.
  • Rufus featuring Chaka Khan
  • Todd Rundgren
  • Soundgarden
  • T. Rex
  • Thin Lizzy

Those ultimately declared inductees will be formally entered into the Rock Hall May 2, 2020 during a ceremony in Cleveland. For more info, including how to participate in the fan vote, click here.

"I honestly couldn;t give less of a shit," Nine Inch Nails' Trent Reznor rather famously said back in 2018 when asked about matters of Rock Hall in a Stereoguminterview. "I'm not gonna sleep any better. Included or not."

Latest in Music