Premiere: Trae tha Truth Details Hurricane Harvey Relief Efforts on New Track "What About Us"

Trae's 'Hometown Hero' is out later this month.


Image via Jonathan Mannion


Ahead of the release of Trae tha Truth's new album Hometown Hero, out later this month, Complex is premiering his new single "What About Us."

The new track sees Trae addressing his efforts at helping rebuild Houston, Texas following the devastation caused by Hurricane Harvey. For his ongoing work in the community, Trae was recently honored alongside other Harvey relief leaders as part of Houston's Harvey Heroes Day.

The lead Hometown Hero single also marks the kickoff of Trae's fresh King Truth moniker, which also appears on the album's cover art.


The rest of the 12-track project includes features from Young Thug, T.I., RaRa, and more:

  1. What About Us
  2. Don't Know Me (ft. Young Thug)
  3. I'll Be Fine
  4. No Pressure (ft. Mozzy)
  5. Dayz I Prayed (ft. Ink)
  6. I Got It On Me
  7. I Can't (ft. Lil Boosie & RaRa)
  8. No Question (ft. Kim)
  9. Shooter (ft. Money Man)
  10. Better Dayz (ft. T.I. & RaRa)
  11. Ain't Nuthin Better
  12. I'm Still Around

Stream "What About Us" below via SoundCloud:

Hometown Hero is out March 16.

Trae is currently in the middle of a massive lawsuit against Radio One and Houston-based 97.9 The Box program director Terri Thomas. Among Trae's complaints are gross negligence and defamation, with Trae alleging that the outlets’ ban against him amounts to "tortuous interference with prospective relations."

Latest in Music