Mick Jenkins Drops New Single "Contacts," Announces New Album and Shares Tracklist

Mick Jenkins has returned with a new track titled "Contacts," along with a coinciding music video. Mick also revealed the release date of his next album.

View this video on YouTube


Mick Jenkins has finally returned with a new track titled “Contacts,” along with a coinciding music video and album announcement.

Mick also revealed that the follow-up to 2020’s The Circus EP is coming and that his next project will be called Elephant in the Room. Set for release on Oct. 29, Jenkins said in a press release that his fourth studio release is an attempt to address various truths and how they impacted the people around him. “From my estranged relationship with my father to friendships that don’t feel the same anymore to the even more basic idea of acknowledging that I need help,” he wrote. “We become accustomed to allowing none progressive qualities and truths to occupy so much space in our lives simply by ignoring them, or ignoring them despite them being right in our faces! I intend to face several of those dormant issues/topics head-ons in the hopes that others can, at the very least, identify with the spaces I’ve grown from.”

The project’s lead single “Contacts” follows in the footsteps of the Monte Booker-produced single “Truffles,” which came out earlier this summer. Mick added in the release that fans can expect some of his best work on this new project. “I think this is a step above what I’ve been doing, but I know that I can take it to another level,” he wrote. “But more than anything, I always hope what people walk away with is that you hear me talk about my shit and think about your own.”

Check out the new video for “Contacts” up top. The album artwork by Ferrari Sheppard and tracklist for Elephant in the Room is below.

Mick Jenkins new album Elephant in the Room

1. The Valley of the shadow of death Prod. Tee-Watt, Thelonious Martin & renzell
2. Things you can die for Feat. Ben Hixon Prod. By renzell
3. Stiff Arm Feat. Ayinde Cartman Prod. By renzell
4. Contacts Prod. By Rascal, Tae Beast & Eli Brown
5. Scottie Pippen Prod. By Kiran Kai (Additional Production by Otto Maralot, Oscar Jerome Laurence, Jack Polley, Joe Armon-Jones & Oliver Simeon Sarkar Samuels)
6. Gucci Tried to tell me Prod. By Lophiile
7. D.U.I Feat. Green SLlime Prod. By Tee-Watt
8. Speed racer Prod. By Saba (Background vocals by Tiffany Lance)
9. Truffles Prod. By renzell & Monte Booker
10. Is, this Cigarette Prod. By Tee-Watt & LeRoyce (Additional Production by Otto Maralot)
11. Reflection Prod. By renzell
12. Rug Burn Feat. Serpent with Feet Prod. By Tee-Watt

Latest in Music