Joji Delivers New Album 'Smithereens'

The project is the follow-up to Joji's 2020 sophomore album 'Nectar' and contains nine tracks, including the previously released "Glimpse of Us."

Joji 'Smithereens' Album Cover

Image via Publicist

Joji 'Smithereens' Album Cover

Joji is looking to close out the year on a high note.

The YouTube comedian-turned-singer/songwriter returns this week with Smithereens—the long-awaited follow-up to his 2020 sophomore album Nectar. It also comes with a visual for “Die for You,” which, per, a press release, comes from creative studio Actual Objects and is “compiled entirely from stock footage.”

View this video on YouTube

Joji teased the project back in June, when he gifted fans with its lead single “Glimpse of Us” and its ambitious video. Director Dan Streit spoke about the chaotic result in an interview, saying, “Joji had an idea for making a video that would be hand-held, shaky, where you’re following a group of kids and there’s lots of fast cutting and destruction. … So I found a good, cheap camera that we could get a bunch of to send around to cool subjects. And so certain ones worked and others didn’t, but the ideas evolved as we went along.”

Nearly three months later, the 88Rising signee confirmed Smithereens’ release date and shared the visual for the project’s second single, “Yukon (Interlude).”

The album comes two weeks after Joji concluded his North American tour with Dhruv, Rei Brown, and Savage Realm. On the final night of the trek, he unveiled Smithereens’ two-part tracklist: Side A includes the aforementioned lead single, as well as titles like “Die for You” and “Before the Day Is Over.” Side B has “Yukon” along with “Night Rider,” “1AM Freestyle,” and more.

You can stream Smithereens now on all major platforms, including Apple Music and via Spotify below.

Latest in Music