Frank Ocean Just Released His New Album, 'Blonde'

Frank Ocean has finally released 'Blonde,' the album fans have been waiting for.

Not Available Lead
Complex Original

Image via Complex Original

Not Available Lead

After years of waiting and almost too many delays to count, Frank Ocean has finally released his new album, Blonde, formerly known as Boys Don't Cry. This is Ocean's first project since he released his critically-acclaimed project, Channel Orange, all the way back in 2012.

Blonde marks the second album from Ocean after he shared Endless earlier this week. On Blonde, Ocean has contributions from André 3000, Beyoncé, James Blake, Jamie xx, Jazmine Sullivan, David Bowie, and many more.


The tracklist for the online verison of Blonde is as follows:

1. Nike
2. Ivy
3. Pink + White
4. Be Yourself
5. Solo
6. Skyline To
7. Self Control
8. Good Guy
9. Nights
10. Solo (Reprise)
11. Pretty Sweet
12. Facebook Story
13. Close to You
14. White Ferrari
15. Seigfried
16. Godspeed
17. Futura Free

According to The FADER, the physical copy of Blonde has a different tracklist with "Nike," "Self Control," "Good Guy," "Facebook Story," and "Close to You" omitted. The order is also different.

1. Pretty Sweet
2. Mitsubishi Sony
3. Ivy
4. Pink + White
5. Solo
6. Easy
7. Skyline To
8. Nights
9. White Ferrari
10. Seigfried
11. Godspeed
12. Futura Free

Ocean, who knew his fans were patiently waiting for new music from him, shared this note on Tumblr:

via Frank's Tumblr.

Rumors surrounding Boys Don't Cry began to really surface all the way back in April 2015 when he announced the title of the album on his official Tumblr and website, and said that it was coming in July. Of course, that didn't end up happening, and fans seriously began to wonder if the album was ever coming out. He then dropped another major hint on his Tumblr on July 2. One of the images featured a library card with a litany of crossed-out dates. The final date on the card was July 2016, leading many to assume the project would drop in July. The month came and went, though on Aug. 1 he shared a video stream on that featured him showing off his woodworking skills. That same day it was reported his album would be released on Aug. 5, a date that came and went. Thankfully, he was gracious enough to release the album this year. Beggars can't be choosers, right?

We did receive a small trickle of information from artists who worked on the project or were in contact with Frank throughout the process. "He is onto something. He really is," said James Blake back in May. Chance the Rapper also weighed in around the same time, saying, "I know he’s away making a masterpiece. I think that Frank is very, very focused on his catalog."

It's hard to believe the almost-mystical project is finally here in real life, but we couldn't be happier about it. You can stream Frank Ocean's album or purchase it on iTunes here. The album is playing on Beats 1, which you can tune in for free.

Latest in Music