2022 LVMH Prize for Young Fashion Designers Awarded to S.S. Daley

Also honored as part of the 2022 ceremony were Karl Lagerfeld Prize recipients Eli Russell Linnetz of ERL and Idris Balogun of Winnie New York.

View this video on YouTube


The winner of the 2022 LVMH Prize for Young Fashion Designers is Steven Stokey Daley, the 25-year-old founder of S.S. Daley.

Daley’s honoring was unveiled on Thursday at the Louis Vuitton Foundation with those in attendance confirmed to have included a number of artistic directors from various houses including Jonathan Anderson, Maria Grazia Chiuri, Nicolas Ghesquière, Kim Jones, Stella McCartney, NIGO®, and Silvia Venturini Fendi. Also present were Delphine Arnault, Jean-Paul Claverie, and Sidney Toledano.

Presenting the LVMH Prize itself, meanwhile, was Cate Blanchett. As part of the distinction, Daley will receive an endowment and have access to a year-long mentorship program featuring input from a range of “LVMH experts.”

Delphine Arnault, executive VP of the LVMH Group, said in a statement shared Thursday that she was “very happy” to see Daley’s work recognized. She also commended those honored with this year’s Karl Lagerfeld Prize, Eli Russell Linnetz (ERL) and Idris Balogun (Winnie New York). Presenting the two Karl Lagerfeld prizes was Olympic champion Eileen Gu.

“I would like to congratulate all the finalists and I applaud their outstanding talent and creativity,” Arnault said. “I am also very grateful to Cate Blanchett and Eileen Gu for being here today, both of whom are outstanding in their own fields and an inspiration to us all. Finally, I would like to thank the members of the exceptional Jury for their involvement in this edition and for their support to young creation.”

Also honored as part of the 2022 class were Università Iuav di Venezia graduate Filippo Bendanti, Central Saint Martins graduate Miriam Griffiths, and Les Ateliers Alix graduate Valeria Pasco.

The next entry in the LVMH Prize for Young Fashion Designers canon, meanwhile, is set to take place next year. Additional information will be announced in the months ahead. In the meantime, get a closer look at the 2022 edition below via photos of the winners captured by Saskia Lawaks.


Latest in Style