United States, Mexico, and Canada to Co-Host 2026 World Cup

The United States, Mexico, and Canada won their joint bid to host the 2026 World Cup, which is expected to be the biggest World Cup ever held. It will feature 48 teams.

Isaiah J. Downing
USA Today Sports

Image via USA Today Sports

Isaiah J. Downing

The 2026 World Cup, expected to be the biggest in history, will be spread out across three countries: the United States, Canada, and Mexico. The countries won their joint bid to host, beating out Morocco, FIFA announced Wednesday morning at the 68th FIFA Congress was held in Moscow.

It seemed it would be a close battle, but in the end the joint bid dominated, receiving 134 votes to Moscow's 65. This means the event will be hosted in 16 cities. There are 23 possible options, including New York, Los Angeles, and Miami. Three of the potential cities are in Canada, three are in Mexico, and the remaining 17 are in the U.S.

3 nations.
16 host cities.
80 games.

🇨🇦🇲🇽🇺🇸 | https://t.co/jbld3pvI99 pic.twitter.com/75IDWh93FU

English soccer star David Beckham and U.S. President Donald Trump are among those who voiced support for the joint bid.

Good news this morning: The 2026 FIFA World Cup is coming to Canada, the US and Mexico. Congratulations to everyone who worked hard on this bid – it’s going to be a great tournament! 🇨🇦🇲🇽🇺🇸 #United2026
The U.S., together with Mexico and Canada, just got the World Cup. Congratulations - a great deal of hard work!

The last time the U.S. hosted the World Cup was 1994. It took place across nine cities: Los Angeles, San Francisco, Dallas, Detroit, New York, Chicago, Orlando, Boston, and Washington, D.C.

The event will run 34 days. Thirty-eight teams will compete over the span of 80 matches.

The next two World Cups, in 2018 and 2022, will take place in Russia and Qatar, respectively.

Latest in Sports