“I need to be famous, Wayne. All the best people are.”

These words, spoken by Mia Goth’s character in the just-released trailer for X, will seemingly prove prescient for a group of filmmakers who find themselves in an unenviable position in a middle-of-nowhere area of Texas.

The new A24-distributed film is helmed by Ti West, a name that should be familiar to horror fans as the same director behind a number of memorable genre entries, including the 2009 gem The House of the Devil.

Joining Goth in the cast are Scott Mescudi, Brittany Snow, Jenna Ortega, Martin Henderson, Owen Campbell, and Stephen Ure. 

The cast of the new Ti West movie is pictured
Image via Christopher Moss/A24

Per a synopsis, audiences will be transported back to 1979 to meet a group of burgeoning filmmakers as they embark on the artistic journey necessary to complete an adult film. The host at their remote shooting location, however, severely complicates (i.e. horror-ifies) the production in ways the team never predicted.

Image via A24

Music for the latest West feature is handled by Tyler Bates (John Wick: Chapter 3 and Creepshow) and Chelsea Wolfe (Lone). As previously announced by Deadline back in November 2020, Kid Cudi is credited as an executive producer through his Mad Solar production company.

X is out March 18. Up top, catch the new trailer.

For Jenna Ortega, X marks just one of the horror entires on her 2022 lineup. This Friday, she’ll be seen in the fifth entry in the Scream franchise, the final trailer for which arrived earlier this week.