Lauryn Hill, DRAM, Earl Sweatshirt, and More Round Out Final Pitchfork Festival Lineup

The 2018 Pitchfork Music Festival introduces gender-equal lineup with Lauryn Hill, Tame Impala, DRAM, Noname, Syd, and more.

ms lauryn hill

Image via Getty/John Parra

ms lauryn hill

The Pitchfork Music Festival came through with a gender-equal lineup for its final announcement. Ms.Lauryn Hill, Tame Impala, Fleet Foxes, Dram, Syd (from The Internet), Raphael Saadiq, Kelela, and more are slated to take the stage at the Chicago music festival this year. Hill will also be giving a celebratory performance for the 20th anniversary of her widely-loved solo debut, The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill.

“Since the festival’s inception, we’ve tried to present the most unique and eclectic musical lineup,” said the festival's producer Mike Reed in a press statement. "Unlike other festivals, music is always at the forefront, so it’s great to step back and see how diverse and inclusive the music makers and listeners have become. We hopefully do our best to reflect that by simply staying true to our initial ideals."

Music festivals are increasingly being criticized for hiring more male artists to perform. BBC study found that 80 percent of 2017 festival headliners were male. Earlier this year, Halsey called out the Firefly Festival for their "dude-heavy" lineup as well. (Our phrase, not hers.)

Now it seems Pitchfork is doing right by both genders. The annual music festival is slated to take place on Friday, July 20 through Sunday, July 22 at Chicago's Union Park. Tickets start at $75 for a day pass and $175 for a three-day one. Festival-goers can also upgrade to the Pitchfork +PLUS for $375 to get a three-day-pass and "exclusive amenities" like "premium food vendors and private specialty bars." Check out the full lineup below. Tickets can be purchased here.


Tame Impala, Courtney Barnett, Mount Kimbie, Big Thief, Earl Sweatshirt, Syd, Julien Baker, Saba, Open Mike Eagle, Julie Byrne, Joshua Abrams & Natural Information Society, Lucy Dacus, Melkbelly, and The Curls.


Fleet Foxes, The War on Drugs, Blood Orange, Raphael Saadiq, This Is Not This Heat, Moses Sumney, Kelela, Girlpool, Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith, Circuit des Yeux, Nilüfer Yanya, Zola Jesus, berhana, and Paul Cherry.


Ms. Lauryn Hill – The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill 20th Anniversary Performance, Chaka Khan, DRAM, Noname, Japandroids, (Sandy) Alex G, Alex Cameron, Smino, Japanese Breakfast, Kelly Lee Owens, Ravyn Lenae, Kweku Collins, Irreversible Entanglements, and Nnamdi Ogbonnaya.

Latest in Music