Nirvana, The Supremes, Slick Rick, and More to Be Honored With Grammys Lifetime Achievement Award

Nirvana, The Supremes, Slick Rick, and more will be honored with the Recording Academy's Lifetime Achievement Award on February 4th in Los Angeles.

Nirvana photographed in New York

Image via Getty/KMazur

Nirvana photographed in New York

The Grammys will pay tribute to a handful of artists with the Lifetime Achievement Award this year.

Among the recipients are Nirvana, The Supremes, Nile Rodgers, Slick Rick, Ma Rainey, Bobby McFerrin, and Heart’s Ann Wilson and Nancy Wilson. The Recording Academy made the announcement via Instagram on Thursday.

There are additional awards being handed out at the Special Merit Awards Ceremony, like the Trustees Award, which will be given to Henry Diltz, Ellis Marsalis, and Jim Stewart; the Technical Grammy, set to be received by the Audio Engineering Society and Dr. Andy Hildebrand, and the Best Song for Social Change, though that winner hasn’t been divulged just yet.

The Special Merit Awards Ceremony takes place on Feb. 4 at Wilshire Ebell Theatre in Los Angeles. Trevor Noah is taking on hosting duties for the Grammys, which will take place a day later on Feb. 5 at L.A.’s Arena and will air on CBS.

Beyoncé leads all nominees at this year’s ceremony with nine nods, while Kendrick Lamars follows with eight, and Adele and Brandi Carlile both with seven. A few other artists earned six nominations each, including Future, Harry Styles, Mary J. Blige, DJ Khaled, and Randy Merrill.

Latest in Music