Donnie Trumpet & The Social Experiment Release "Surf" Featuring Chance The Rapper

We've been waiting for this.

Not Available Lead
Image via Complex Original
Not Available Lead

It's been two years since Chance The Rapper released Acid Rap. After much waiting and tinkering,  he and longtime collaborator/friend Donnie Trumpet  have finally decided to release The Social Experiment's long awaited debut project, Surf. They've been selectively releasing tracks to whet the public's appetite for a full project for the past few months, but now we get to sink our teeth into a full showing from the experimental hip-hop and jazz group.

The live instrumentation and vocals are top notch, in the tradition of their previous Soundcloud leaks. If you are expecting an all Chance album, you may be slightly disappointed. However, Donnie Trumpet & The Social Experiement's numerous collaborations and inventive production will more than make up for your initial sadness. Surf boast features from Busta Rhymes, J. Cole, Jeremih, Erykah Badu, Janelle Monáe​, and more. You have to go into your listening with an open mind and appreciate the unorthodox sounds you are hearing.  You can download Surf  here and view the full tracklist below.


Surf Tracklist:

01. Miracle

02. Slip Slide (feat. B.O.B., BJ the Chicago Kid, Busta Rhymes, and Janelle Monáe)

03. Warm Enough (feat. J Cole)

04. Nothing Came to Me

05. Wanna Be Cool feat. (Big Sean and Jeremih)

06. Windows (feat. BJ The Chicago Kid and Raury)

07. Caretaker (feat. D.R.A.M.)

08. Just Wait

09. Familiar (feat. Quavo of Migos and King Louie)

10. Smthnthtlwnt (feat. Saba)

11. Go (feat. Joey Purp and Jesse Boykins III)

12. Questions

13. Something Came to Me

14. Rememory (feat. Erykah Badu)

15. Sunday Candy

16. Pass the Vibes

Latest in Music