Breakdown of Boxing's Weight-Classes

From heavyweight all the way down to strawweight, here's the current landscape of boxing's 17 weight divisions.

Canelo Alvarez Sergey Kovalev MGM Grand 2019
USA Today Sports

Nov 2, 2019; Las Vegas, NV, USA; Canelo Alvarez (blue/green trunks) and Sergey Kovalev (black/white/red trunks) box during their WBO light heavyweight title bout at MGM Grand Garden Arena. Mandatory Credit: Joe Camporeale-USA TODAY Sports

Canelo Alvarez Sergey Kovalev MGM Grand 2019

Boxing's early days looked nothing like the sport does today, including its confusing and hard to remember division designations that incrementally increase from 105 pounds to 201 pounds and up. 

Back in the day, weights didn't really matter when making a fight. Guys just slugged it out without any mind paid to size differentials. That changed starting in 1890s when the Marquess of Queensberry Rules instituted universal regulations for the sport. Roughly 20 years later, eight traditional weight-classes with specific limits debuted thanks to the National Sporting Club of London—heavyweight, cruiserweight, middleweight, welterweight, lightweight, featherweight, bantamweight, and flyweight.  

The weight limits have fluctuated for some of the divisions over the years (or centuries) since history books will tell you that the heavyweight limit used to be 160 pounds as far back as the 1730s. Athletes have grown considerably since the 18th century and so have the number of divisions in boxing—the sport now features 17 weight classes. Adding to the confusion of many casual fans, three of the four sanctioning bodies (WBC, WBA, IBF) agreed to standardized division designations in 2015 while one (WBO) continues to do things differently. 

So keeping all that in mind, we're offering up a breakdown of boxing's divisions—a little history mixed in with a snapshot as they stand in the first quarter of 2020. 


Heavyweight (201 lbs and up)

Deontay Wilder Tyson Fury 2018 Staples Center Early Round

Cruiserweight (200 lbs limit)

oleksandr usyk chazz witherspoon oct 2019

Light Heavyweight (175 lbs limit)

Artur Beterbiev Oleksandr Gvozdyk KD 2019

Super Middleweight (168 lbs limit)

Canelo Alvarez Light Heavyweight 2019

Middleweight (160 lbs limit)

Gennadiy Golovkin Steve Rolls 2019

Super Welterweight (154 lbs limit)

Jermell Charo Tony Harrison 2019 Getty

Welterweight (147 lbs limit)

Terence Crawford Amir Khan 2019

Super Lightweight (140 lbs limit)

Josh Taylor Regis Prograis WBSS Super Lightweight 2019

Lightweight (135 lbs limit)

Vasiliy Lomachenko Belt 2016

Super Featherweight (130 pound limit)

Floyd Mayweather after his TKO of Conor McGregor.

Featherweight (126 pound limit)

Shakur Stevenson 2017 The Garden

Super Bantamweight (122 pound limit)

Emanuel Navarrete Jeo Santisima 2020 Las Vegas

Bantamweight (118 pound limit)

Naoya Inoue Nonito Donaire WBSS Final 2019 2

Super Flyweight (115 pound limit)

Juan Francisco Estrada Victor Mendez 2018

Flyweight (112 pound limit)

Manny Pacquiao

Junior Flyweight (108 pound limit)

Kenshiro Teraji 2018 Japan

Minimum Weight (105 pound limit)

Wanheng Menayothin Getty 2018

Latest in Sports