Regular Season MVPs

Jordan: 5
Brady: 3

Jordan claimed the NBA’s top individual honor in 1988, 1991, 1992, 1996, and 1998. He won it three times before his minor league baseball stint and twice thereafter. Brady won his third MVP last year, after also winning MVP in 2007 and 2010.

Championship MVPs

Jordan: 6 (in 6 appearances)
Brady: 4 (in 9 appearances)

Jordan was clearly the most important player in all six of his NBA Finals appearances. In the Finals, he averaged 33.6 points, 6.0 rebounds, 6.0 assists, and 1.8 steals per game, while shooting 37 percent from three-point range, well above his career average of 33 percent.

With the exception of his first appearance—in 2001, when he was a glorified game manager—Brady has been excellent in all of his Super Bowls, even playing well in New England’s losses. But Deion Branch took home MVP in 2005 and Julian Edelman was named MVP of Super Bowl LIII.

Edge: Jordan