The Star Wars: Episode IX cast has officially been announced, with a number of returning cast members on the roster for the not-yet-subtitled, J.J. Abrams–directed film. reveals Daisy Ridley, Adam Driver, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Kelly Marie Tran (Episode VIII: The Last Jedi's Rose), Lupita Nyong’o, Domhnall Gleeson, Joonas Suotamo (new Chewbacca), and Billie Lourd will all return for the conclusion of the trilogy Abrams began with 2015's Episode VII: The Force Awakens. Two newcomers were announced: Naomi Ackie and Richard E. Grant (Downton Abbey, Logan). 

Episode IX will also bring back the late actress Carrie Fisher, who died at age 60 in 2016. "We desperately loved Carrie Fisher," said Abrams, who co-wrote the film with Chris Terrio  (Batman v Superman, Justice League). "Finding a truly satisfying conclusion to the Skywalker saga without her eluded us. We were never going to recast, or use a CG character. With the support and blessing from her daughter, Billie [Lourd], we have found a way to honor Carrie’s legacy and role as Leia in Episode IX by using unseen footage we shot together in Episode VII." 

In April 2017, Lucasfilm CEO Kathleen Kennedy said, "Sadly, Carrie will not be in IX. But we will see a lot of Carrie in VIII."

Anthony Daniels is back as C-3PO, Mark Hamill will return as Luke Skywalker (!), and Billy Dee Williams will show up as Lando Calrissian for the first time since 1983's Episode VI: Return of the Jedi. Donald Glover took on the role of young Lando in this year's Solo: A Star Wars Story.

Star Wars: Episode IX is slated to hit theaters (and make men's rights activists mad all over again) on Dec. 20, 2019. The Americans star Keri Russell was previously cast.