Daniel Caesar, Jessie Reyez On 2023 Polaris Music Prize Long List

The annual Canadian music prize named its 40 album long list, which includes both new and recognizable names.

Jessie Reyez performs during the 2023 Dreamville Music festival at Dorothea Dix Park
Tim Mosenfelder / Getty Images
Jessie Reyez performs during the 2023 Dreamville Music festival at Dorothea Dix Park

The Polaris Music Prize revealed its 40 album Long List, with Daniel Caesar and Jessie Reyez among the nominees.

The prize goes to the best Canadian album of the year, and the albums are nominated by a jury of 205 Canadian music media.

In addition to Caesar's Never Enough and Reyez's Yessie, Snotty Nose Rez Kids are back on the long list with I'm Good, HBU?, as is Chiiild for Better Luck In The Next Life and Dylan Sinclair for No Longer In The Suburbs.

From here, the 10 album short list made up of albums from the long list will be revelaed July 13. The Polaris Music Prize gala will be held on September 19 at Massey Hall in Toronto, with the winner taking home a $50,000 grand prize.

The 2023 Polaris Music Prize Long List is:


Alvvays - Blue Rev

Aquakultre - Don't Trip

Aysanabee - Watin

Badge Époque Ensemble - Clouds Of Joy

Begonia - Powder Blue

Bibi Club - Le soleil et la mer

BIG|BRAVE - nature morte

Philippe Brach - Les gens qu’on aime

Mariel Buckley - Everywhere I Used To Be

Daniel Caesar - Never Enough

Chiiild - Better Luck In The Next Life

Feist - Multitudes

Debby Friday - Good Luck

Gayance - Mascarade

Ghostkeeper - Multidimensional Culture

Home Front - Games of Power

JayWood - Slingshot

Khotin - Release Spirit

Thierry Larose - Sprint!

Murray Lightburn - Once Upon A Time In Montreal

Isabella Lovestory - Amor Hardcore

Dan Mangan - Being Somewhere

N NAO - L'eau et les rêves

Tami Neilson - Kingmaker

Eliza Niemi - Staying Mellow Blows

Nico Paulo - Nico Paulo

Planet Giza - Ready When You Are

poolblood - mole

Jessie Reyez - Yessie

The Sadies - Colder Streams

Jairus Sharif - Water & Tools

Andy Shauf - Norm

Dylan Sinclair - No Longer In The Suburbs

Snotty Nose Rez Kids - I'm Good, HBU?

Alexandra Stréliski - Néo-Romance

U.S. Girls - Bless This Mess

Witch Prophet - Gateway Experience

Yoo Doo Right - A Murmur, Boundless to the East

Zoon - Bekka Ma'iingan

Past winners include Kaytranada's 99.9% in 2016, Haviah Mighty's 13th Floor in 2019, and Cadence Weapon's Parallel World in 2021.

Latest in Music