Solange Reveals Title, Cover Art, and Release Date for New Album

Solange to drop her new album, "A Seat at the Table," later this week.

Not Available Lead
Complex Original

Image via Complex Original

Not Available Lead

It’s been years since we’ve received a full music project from Solange Knowles; however, that all changes at the end of the week.

On Tuesday, the 30-year-old artist announced that her next album, titled A Seat at the Table, will drop digitally this Friday. The 20-track project, which Solange has been working on since 2013, was written entirely by her and includes features by The-Dream, Lil Wayne, Sampha, Kelly Rowland, and Q-Tip.

Solange described the album in a press release as “a project on identity, empowerment, independence, grief and healing.”

The record was initially teased last week, when Solange posted a mysterious Instagram post with a caption that read: "86 of you will receive a seat at the table in the mail…..first come….first served…." The post then directed followers to her official website, where the first 86 visitors were asked to enter their name and address. Those who were able to sign up on the site received a book of poetry and photography on Monday. The project, also titled A Seat at the Table, included the Sept. 30 date, which led many people to believe a new album was on the way. Well, it turns out the theories were right. 

You can check out the album art above and tracklist below. The A Seat at the Table book can be viewed digitally here

Solange A Seat At The Table Album Art

A Seat At The Table Tracklist:
1. "Rise"
2. "Weary" (Additional Vocals blessed by Tweet)
3. "Interlude: The Glory Is In You"
4. "Cranes In The Sky"
5. "Interlude: Dad Was Mad"
6. "Mad" Ft. Lil Wayne (Additional Vocals blessed by Moses Sumney and Tweet)
7. "Don't You Wait"
8. "Interlude: Tina Taught Me"
9. "Don't Touch My Hair" Ft. Sampha
10. "Interlude: This Moment" (Additional vocals Devonte Hynes of Houston Texas and Lu of Carolina)
11. "Where Do We Go" (Additional vocals blessed by Sean Nicholas Savage)
12. "Interlude: For Us By Us” “F.U.B.U." Ft. The Dream & BJ The Chicago Kid (Additional Vocals blessed by Tweet)
13. "Borderline (An Ode To Self Care)" Ft. Q-Tip
14. "Interlude: I Got So Much Magic, You Can Have It" Ft. Kelly Rowland & Nia Andrews
15. "Junie"
16. "Interlude: No Limits"
17. "Don't Wish Me Well"
18. "Interlude: Pedestals"
19. "Scales" Ft. Kelela
​20. "Closing: The Chosen Ones"

Latest in Music