Chaz French has been on his grind over the last few years, and it's paid off through a joint venture between his collective ThreeSixEight and Motown/Capitol. Now, the real test comes for the D.C. rapper as he readies his debut album True Colors. Along with the album announcement, French reveals the cover art and drops "Pops" featuring Marco McInnis.

"D.C. was one of the hardest hit areas in America by the crack epidemic of the late '80s and early '90s," French told Complex about the inspiration behind this particular song. "Our communities are still feeling the effects to this day. Mass incarceration and the drug abuse that happened during this time left many households without their fathers. My household was one of these. I couldn't really fully understand why my dad wasn't around for extended periods growing up, but now I get and I forgive. I also appreciate my dad for doing his best that he knew how."

French also explained the importance of his upcoming album.

"This album feels like a ride through my city, at the same time taking a journey through my experiences and emotions up to this point in my young rap career. D.C. hasn't had many chances to have our voice heard on a large platform up until this point in hip hop. When ThreeSixEighy got my deal at Motown, that meant D.C. got a deal too. This isn't just about me, it's about the city and the world hearing our voice. No matter if we come from the same walk of life, if you're from D.C. I want you to feel like you were a part of making this album because life in this city was and will always be my inspiration."

Get a preview of True Colors along with the tracklist below and pre-order the project when it's available Friday (June 16).

1. True Colors (Intro)
2. Way Out
3. Peace & Happiness
4. Start It Up ft. Casey Veggies
5. Somehow
6. So Are We ft. Innanet James & Phil Ade
7. Uncle Luke
8. Situation
9. Hol’ Up ft. Shy Glizzy
10. Let It Shine ft. Kenny Burns
11. Amerikkka ft. Eddie Vanz
12. Young World ft. Kevin Ross & Tony Lewis Jr
13. Pops ft Marco McInnis
14. Squad
15. Invite Only ft. Curren$y
16. Off Top
17. Thinnest Line ft. BJ The Chicago Kid & Saba Abraha​Abraha