The 2014 NBA Slam Dunk Contest Will Have an Entirely New Format

What do you think?

Photo Removed
Complex Original

Blank pixel used during image takedowns

Photo Removed

Earlier tonight, we found out who will be competing in this year's Slam Dunk Contest. 


Terrence Ross, Toronto Raptors (defending champion)
Paul George, Indiana Pacers
John Wall, Washington Wizards 


Harrison Barnes, Golden State Warriors
Damian Lillard, Portland Trail Blazers
Ben McLemore, Sacramento Kings 

If you're wondering what is with the split in the Eastern and Western Conference, here's your answer. Both conferences will start off by competing in a "freestyle" round which will give each three-man team 90 seconds to do whatever they want. The judges will decide who wins and the winning team can opt to go first or second in the next round: the "battle" round.

This portion of the competition will pit each participant in a head-to-head battle. When the dunker loses the battle, they are eliminated. For example, say George and Barnes square off. They will get one dunk each and the person with the higher score is declared the winner. The first team with three "battles" won is the winner. As for awarding an individual, the fans will determine the "Dunker of the Night" through a vote. How does that sound? 

RELATED: The 30 Best Slams in NBA Dunk Contest History (Video)

[via For The Win]

Latest in Sports