Your College Football Final Four: Alabama, Oregon, Florida State, and Ohio State

The Final Four for the College Football Playoff: Alabama, Oregon, Florida State, and Ohio State.

Not Available Lead
Complex Original

Image via Complex Original

Not Available Lead

The top three seeds in the College Football Playoff were not a surprise. The question going into the first-ever selection show was: who’s No. 4?

The answer: the Ohio State Buckeyes.

OSU beat out Baylor and TCU on the strength of an impressive 59-0 win yesterday over Wisconsin, vaulting themselves into the Final Four and a date with Alabama on New Year’s Day in the Sugar Bowl. Oregon and Florida State will also meet on New Year’s Day in the Rose Bowl, with the two winners playing for the National Championship on January 12.

TCU had been in third place last week, but despite winning a share of the Big 12 title with a 55-3 thrashing of Iowa State yesterday could not remain in the top four. Baylor, too, has a legitimate gripe after topping No. 9 Kansas State yesterday for the other share of the Big 12 title.

Not having a championship game clearly hurt both Big 12 teams, and allowed Ohio State to move past both of them and into the title mix.


Latest in Sports