Oklahoma QB Kyler Murray Wins 2018 Heisman Trophy

Murray was up against finalists Alabama QB Tua Tagovailoa and Ohio State QB Dwayne Haskins.

View this video on YouTube


It's a back-to-back win for Oklahoma. 

On Saturday night, Kyler Murray was named the 2018 Heisman Trophy winner, marking the second straight year a Sooners QB was awarded the hardware. Sporting News reports Murray received 2,167 votes, while his fellow finalists, Tua Tagovailoa of Alabama and Dwayne Haskins of Ohio State, earned 1,871 and 783 votes, respectively. 

"This is crazy. I’ve worked my whole life to fulfill my goals, but at the same time, I know there’s a higher power looking down on me," Murray said during his acceptance speech in NYC. "[...]  I wanna congratulate my boys here, Tua and Dwayne, for their two historic seasons. It’s been an honor to be with you guys the last two days and meet y’all, be with y’all’s families. And I wanna say congratulations to y’all [...] This is an honor, something that I’ll never forget, something that I’ll always cherish for the rest of my life."

Murray, who led Oklahoma to its fourth consecutive Big 12 title, has passed for 4,053 yards with 40 touchdowns and only seven interceptions. 

The Texas-born athlete followed in the footsteps of Baker Mayfield, the former Oklahoma QB who received the Heisman in 2017. Though Mayfield went on to join the Cleveland Browns, there's a chance Murray will forgo professional football and instead join the MLB. The 21-year-old was the ninth overall pick of the Oakland As, and has already agreed to join the team in 2019.

Latest in Sports