Joe Burrow's incredible year now includes a history-making Heisman Trophy win.

The LSU quarterback beat out Ohio State's Justin Fields and Chase Young and Oklahoma's Jalen Hurts to win the honor on Saturday. He's the first LSU Tiger to win the award since Billy Cannon in 1959.

Burrow finished with the largest margin of victory in the award's history with 1,846 points separating him from Hurts in second place. He received a record-setting 90.7 percent of the first-place votes and was named on 95.5 percent of ballots.

Burrow, a transfer from Ohio State, had a 200-1 chance of hoisting the trophy at the start of the year. He caught the nation's attention by putting up impressive numbers against powerhouse schools: He was 143-of-182 for 1,827 yards with 16 touchdowns and just two interceptions against AP Top 25 teams, according to ESPN. Overall, he's scored 48 touchdowns and led the Tigers to a 13-0 record.

"My journey, I wouldn't have traded it for anything in the world," Burrow said during his acceptance speech. "Can you imagine a guy like Coach [Ed Orgeron], giving me the keys to his football program? He just means so much to me and my family...and to LSU. I sure hope they give him a lifetime contract, because he deserves it."

Burrow will take on Hurts and the Oklahoma Sooners in the Peach Bowl on Dec. 28.