In normal context, Indianapolis is a smaller American city, surrounded by seemingly endless rows of yellow Indiana corn, a state capital that serves as a pit stop between Purdue University and Indiana University. In the athletic world, however, it is a historic racing mecca that hosts one of the most significant sporting events in the world. The 500-mile Indianapolis 500 is held at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, where open-wheel enthusiasts recently celebrated 100 years of Indycar heritage and tradition. 

Hundreds of racers have driven the 2.5-mile track, and while some like A.J. Foyt, Al Unser, and Rick Mears have won the Borg-Warner Trophy as many as four times, others have barely survived the treacherous race, circling at average speeds of up to 170 mph. We took a trip down memory lane (and the fast lane) through every single race and compiled the stories of each historic winner, some winning by large margins, others barelyl squeaking by. Click through to see all the milk-drinking glory in The Complete History of Indianapolis 500 Winners