The Writer's Guild of America has announced the nominees for the year's best video game writing award in advance of the 2014 Writer's Guild Awards held next month. This year's contenders for Outstanding Achievement in Video Game Writing had to be released between December 1, 2012 and November 30, 2013 to be eligible and are as follows:

- The Last Of Us 
- Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag
- Lost Planet 3
- God of War: Ascenscion
- Batman: Arkham Origins

It's worth noting that Assassin's Creed and Uncharted have alternately dominated the award for the past four years running (with Uncharted 2, 3, Assassin's Creed's Brotherhood and Liberation winning, respectively) though Complex's money would have to be on Naughty Dog's absolutely stellar The Last Of Us.

The winner will be announced February 1 at the Guild Awards in both New York and Los Angeles. Good luck to all the nominees!

Via Joystiq