The UK’s Barclaycard Mercury Music Prize has announced the 2013 shortlist for the Albums of the Year category, and it is yet another reminder of just what rude health British music is in. The nominations include artists from right across the musical spectrum, running the gamut from Jon Hopkins’ experimental electronics to Disclosure’s crossover appropriate sounds to Arctic Monkey’s classic rock. The shortlist is below, while the actual Awards Show will be held on October 30, preceded by a series of gigs featuring nominated artists which, if you happen live in England’s green and pleasant lands, you can register for here.

Arctic Monkeys – AM
David Bowie – The Next Day
Disclosure – Settle
Foals – Holy Fire
Jake Bugg – Jake Bugg
James Blake – Overgrown 
Jon Hopkins – Immunity 
Laura Marling – Once I Was An Eagle
Laura Mvula – Sing to the Moon
Rudimental – Home
Savages – Silence Yourself
Villagers – Awayland

Also Watch

Pigeons & Planes is all about music discovery, supporting new artists, and delivering the best music curation online and IRL. Follow us on and .