Jorja Smith Confirms Details Of New LP ‘Falling Or Flying’, Shares Video For Title Track

The new album, which is to be released on September 29, will feature J Hus and Jamaican singer Lila Iké.

Video via YouTube

View this video on YouTube

Video via YouTube

When Jorja Smith released the dramatic visuals for “Try Me” in April, it looked pretty likely that it was going to lead to an album. “Little Things” and a Nia Archives remix followed, as did “Go Go Go”, and in May she confirmed that a new album was indeed on the way.

Now she’s solidified the album’s release date—September 29—as well as the tracklist. All of those singles, save for the Nia Archives remix, will feature on the album, as will the latest single, also titled “Falling Or Flying”, which arrives today with a music video.

So far, each single has been pretty different from the last. We’ve had garage, straight-up R&B, indie pop-rock, and with “Falling Or Flying”, she’s delved into yet another sound: a haunting, reggae-tinged soul vibe reminiscent of the ‘80s.

Jorja also directed the video for this one, putting herself under cold blue lighting in a structure somewhere in deep space. Speaking on her directorial debut, Jorja says the idea for the video “came to mind ‘cause I always wanted to shoot a video in space. ‘Falling Or Flying’ just made me think of that. I wanted to go up into space with someone I love and cherish, but they didn’t want to come with me.”

Released via her own FAMM imprint, one thing’s for certain: this album is going to be 100% her own. Press play on the “Falling Or Flying” visuals above, peep the full tracklist below, and be sure to add the song to your playlists.

Falling Or Flying tracklist:

1. Try Me
2. She Feels
3. Little Things
4. Flights Skit
5. Feelings f/ J Hus
6. Falling or flying
7. GO GO GO 
8. Try And Fit In
9. Greatest Gift f/ Lila Iké
10. Broken Is The Man
11. Make Sense
12. Too Many Times
13. Lately
14. BT69 JJY
15. Backwards
16. What If My Heart Beats Faster?

Latest in Music