SZA Releases 'Dear Evan Hansen' Track "The Anonymous Ones"

SZA shares new song "The Anonymous Ones" from the 'Dear Evan Hansen' soundtrack. The movie is slated for release on later this month on Sept. 24.

View this video on YouTube

SZA has shared the song “The Anonymous Ones” from the Dear Evan Hansensoundtrack.

The song was made for the film and written by Benj Pasek, Justin Paul, and Amandla Stenberg. “The Anonymous Ones” serves as a reminder that everyone deals with insecurities and fears, but that we can help each other out by listening and showing up. 

The soundtrack also features Sam Smith, Summer Walker, Carrie Underwood, Dan + Shay, Finneas, and Tori Kelly. The 16-track offering is set to release on Sept. 24 via Interscope Records.

In August, new variations of the film’s anthems “Waving Through a Window” and “You Will Be Found” were sang by Ben Platt, who played Evan Hansen in the Broadway show and is set to reprise the role in the movie. The Broadway version of Dear Evan Hansen debuted in December 2016 and eventually won six Tony Awards, with Platt winning Best Actor in a Leading Role in a Musical.

Directed by Stephen Chbosky, Platt comes back as Evan Hansen, who is described as “an anxious, isolated high schooler aching for understanding and belonging amid the chaos and cruelty of the social-media age,” according to a press release. Stenberg, Amy Adams, Julianne Moore, Kaitlyn Dever, Nik Dodani, Danny Pino, and Colton Ryan also star in the film, which is also slated for a Sept. 24 arrival.

Latest in Music