Arca Announces Self-Titled Album, Shares "Piel"

The upcoming album will be Arca's XL Recordings debut.

Direct from Artist



Arca has announced the follow-up to his 2015 album Mutant. The upcoming self-titled album will release on XL Recordings on April 7, and will be his third studio album. The release will include the previously released "Sin Rumbo," which showed up on his 2016 mixtape Entrañas​. To coincide with the announcement of the forthcoming album, Arca has shared the gorgeous opening track for the album, "Piel."

Taking a bit of a turn from his previous output, "Piel" features Arca's vocals up close. "Here's my voice and all my guts: feel free to judge it," he said in a press release. "It's like a bullfight: you're watching emotional violence for pleasure. So this is a character who, almost as a mockery of the transaction, goes uncomfortably deep, into self-mutilation. 'You want gore? Here's gore.'" The track is the first piece of music from Arca to feature his singing voice.

The artwork was designed by frequent collaborator Jesse Kanda, and can be seen above. Listen to "Piel" below.

Arca Tracklist:

01. Piel
02. Anoche
03. Saunter
04. Urchin
05. Reverie
06. Castration
07. Sin Rumbo
08. Coraje
09. Whip
10. Desafío
11. Fugaces
12. Miel
13. Child