Bon Iver Shares New Album '22, A Million'

Bon Iver's new album '22, A Million' is here.

Not Available Lead
Image via Complex Original
Not Available Lead

Bon Iver's hotly anticipated third album 22, A Million is finally here. The 10-track project features four previously released tracks: "33 'GOD'," "22 (OVER S∞∞N)," "10 d E A T h b R E a s T ⊠ ⊠," and "8 (circle)." Obviously, the album's tracks all feature a number and some odd combination of words, letters, and symbols.

"22, A Million is part love letter, part final resting place of two decades of searching for self-understanding like a religion. And the inner-resolution of maybe never finding that understanding," the group explained in a recent press release. "The album’s 10 poly-fi recordings are a collection of sacred moments, love’s torment and salvation, contexts of intense memories, signs that you can pin meaning onto or disregard as coincidence. If Bon Iver, Bon Iver built a habitat rooted in physical spaces, then 22, A Million is the letting go of that attachment to a place." 

22, A Million follows the band's 2011 album Bon Iver, Bon Iver, as well as their 2008 breakout debut For Emma, Forever Ago. Outside of the band's music, Bon Iver founder and singer Justin Vernon has made a name for himself with high-profile collaborations, most notably with Kanye West. Vernon was featured on several songs from My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, including "Lost in the World," "Monster," and "Dark Fantasy." The exposure from working with Kanye undoubtedly helped Bon Iver's ascension into indie stardom, although the group's own critically acclaimed work has backed up the hype.

You can purchase Bon Iver's 22, A Million album on iTunes here or stream it below via Spotify.

Latest in Music