East London grime MC, Ghetts was among the surprise winners at last night’s AIM Independent Music Awards, beating off favourite Bonobo and taking home the gong for Hardest Working Artist. London Grammar triumphed, too, taking home both the Most Played New Independent Act award, and Independent Breakthrough of the Year award.

There was also joy for dub-loving Kode 9: he won an Innovator Award, and the mantelpiece at his Hyperdub HQ now boasts an award for Best Small Label. Meanwhile, pioneering house and techno DJ, Richie Hawtin, was presented with the Outstanding Contribution Award, with AIM highlighting his career as being "characterised by a relentless urge to push electronic music forward." Check out the full list of winners below.

Best Live Act (in association with Songkick): Sophie Ellis-Bextor 

Independent Breakthrough of The Year (sponsored by 7digital): London Grammar

Hardest Working Band or Artist (in association with Jack Daniel’s): Ghetts 

Best ‘Difficult’ Second Album (in association with Xfm): Ben Watt —​ Hendra 

Independent Album of The Year (sponsored by MixRadio): Arctic Monkeys —​ AM

Best Small Label (sponsored by Disc Manufacturing Services): Hyperdub 

PPL Award For Most Played New Independent Act: London Grammar

Special Catalogue Release of The Year (in association with Amazon Music): Various —​ Purple Snow: Forecasting The Minneapolis Sound

Independent Label of The Year (sponsored by Believe Digital): Domino

Independent Track of The Year (sponsored by Spotify): Twin Atlantic —​ "Heart & Soul"

Independent Video of The Year (sponsored by VEVO): Dan Le Sac vs Scroobius Pip —​ "You Will See

Indie Champion Award (sponsored by CI): John Doran, The Quietus

Golden Welly Award for Best Independent Festival (in association with AIF and DIY): Barn on the Farm

Special Recognition Award: Alison Wenham, AIM Chairman and CEO

Outstanding Contribution to Music (sponsored by eMusic): Richie Hawtin
Pioneer Award: Martin Mills, Beggars Group

Innovator Award (sponsored by The Orchard): Steve Goodman aka Kode9 of Hyperdub Records