Amongst the packed weekend of political events, last night brought the Hip-Hop Inaugural Ball to Washington, D.C. Hosted by La La Anthony and Terrence J, the event honored hip-hop’s influence and the political landscape and its role in reelecting President Obama.

John Legend took home the humanitarian award, MC Lyte and Doug E. Fresh both received lifetime achievement awards, 2 Chainz earned the street soldier award for his work with the “Respect My Vote!” campaign. Swizz Beatz and Meek Mill were also honored, as was Rosario Dawson for her work with the Voto Latino organization. Other performers at the event itself included Yo Yo, Lil Mama, Wayne Brady and Marsha Ambrosius.

[via HuffingtonPost]