There hasn't been a really dope bat-soundtrack since Prince scored 1989 Batman album. With Rocksteady Games' Batman: Arkham City swooping onto shelves on October 18th, Warner Bros. Entertainment and Water Tower Music have announced an album to coincide with the game. Batman: Arkham City — The Album will feature new songs from Panic! At The Disco, Daughtry, Coheed and Cambria, and Serj Tankian.

Each of the 12 artists wrote a tune specifically for the project, but none of the songs will appear in the actual video game. The Collector's Edition of the game will include a digital download code of the album. It hasn't been all "Batdance" and "Partyman," as Coheed and Cambria frontman Claudio Sanchez expresses the issues with writing for the Caped Crusader. "I write in a very conceptual format with the stories that surround Coheed and Cambria, but Batman has a much larger, defined history, and rules that go along with it. My goal was to find universal themes from Batman's existing history to help give the lyrics legs and dimension so that the song could live within that world."

As Arkham City looks to tide fans over until next year's arrival of Christopher Nolan's The Dark Knight Rises, gamers and music aficianados alike can get the album on October 4th. Below is the track listing:

1. Panic! At The Disco - Mercenary
2. Coheed and Cambria - Deranged
3. The Duke Spirit - Creature
4. Black Rebel Motorcycle Club - Shadow On The Run
5. Blaqk Audio  - Afterdark
6. The Raveonettes - Oh, Stranger
7. (Crosses) - The Years
8. The Damned Things - Trophy Widow
9. Daughtry - Drown In You
10. The Boxer Rebellion - Losing You
11. Serj Tankian - Total Paranoia
12. A Place to Bury Strangers - In The Shadow

[via Game Informer]