Aesop Rock has been keeping busy with collaborations and film scores, but today he announces his return to solo form. Aesop’s next album is called The Impossible Kid and it comes out via Rhymesayers on April 29. Lead single “Rings” was self-produced and features synthesizers by Grimace Federation, bass by James Lynch, and scratches by DJ Zone. The song comes with a Rob Shaw-directed music video.

On Facebook, Aesop explains, “‘Rings’ reflects on my failure as a visual artist, and some of the regret I’ve experienced in regards to not pursuing it further. You can expect more music, visuals, and information about The Impossible Kid in the upcoming weeks and months. Tour dates will be announced soon.”

Pre-order the album here, and take a trip down memory lane in our 2015 interview with Aesop Rock.


Art by Alex Pardee

Also Watch

Pigeons & Planes is all about music discovery, supporting new artists, and delivering the best music curation online and IRL. Follow us on and .