Yesterday SBTRKT announced a new album with only its name, Wonder Where We Land, its awesome cover (above), and a new song featuring Vampire Weekend's Ezra Koenig, "NEW DORP. NEW YORK." As of this morning, there's a release date, September 23, 2014, and an iTunes pre-order (both standard and deluxe), revealing another eclectic tracklist following his 2011 self-titled debut album and instrumental series from last March called Transitions.

While early attention to SBTRKT may have come from his Little Dragon "Wildfire" remix featuring Drake (Drake also came on stage during a SBTRKT show in Toronto), SBTRKT was more precise than ever when choosing features for this new album. Collaborators like Raury (on "Higher"), Denai Moore ("The Light"), Warpaint ("War Drums"), Caroline Polachek ("Look Away"), and Boogie ("Spaced Out") show that, while he's still working with Sampha and Jessie Ware, he was clued into which newer creators would take the project to the next level.

At a private listening session in New York last night, SBTRKT previewed his album and talked about the creation of each song. He let us know that the album was mastered by Yeezus masterer, Vlado Meller, and that he was listening to Kanye West, Pink Floyd, and krautrock while making the album. He was also watching sci-fi films, like René Laloux's 1973 Fantastic Planet, and you can hear the union of his tribal dance music with futuristic bleeps on songs like "Wonder Where We Land" featuring Sampha.

Just as he used an American masterer for this album, he chose more American artists to feature than he did on SBTRKT, and he recorded with them in Los Angeles, New York, and, in the case of Caroline Polachek and Sampha, on Osea Island (off of England's east coast).

We'll share more details closer to the album release, but in the meantime, stream "NEW DORP. NEW YORK" below and peep the tracklist + tour dates for Wonder Where We Land.


1. Day 1
2. Wonder Where We Land (feat. Sampha)
3. Lantern
4. Higher (feat. Raury)
5. Day 5
6. Look Away (feat. Caroline Polachek)
7. Osea (feat. Koreless)
8. Temporary View (feat. Sampha)
9. NEW DORP. NEW YORK (feat Ezra Koenig)
10. Everybody Knows
11. Problem (Solved) (feat. Jessie Ware)
12. If It Happens (feat. Sampha)
13. Gon Stay (feat. Sampha)
14. The Light (feat. Denai Moore)
15. Voices In My Head (feat. A$AP Ferg)



09/26/14 – Leeds, UK @ O2 Academy
09/27/14 – Glasgow, UK @ O2 ABC
09/29/14 – Bristol, UK @ O2 Academy
09/30/14 – Manchester, UK @ Albert Hall
10/01/14 – Nottingham, UK @ Rock City
10/02/14 – London, UK @ Brixton Academy


11/08/14 - Turin, Italy @ C2C
11/10/14 – Munich, Germany @ Theaterfabrik
11/11/14 – Berlin, Germany @ Astra
11/12/14 – Warsaw, Poland @ Basen
11/13/14 – Hamburg, Germany @ Uebel & Gefährlich
11/15/14 – Esch-sur-Alzette, Luxembourg @ Rockhal
11/16/14 – Amsterdam, Holland@ Melkweg
11/17/14 – Gent, Belgium @ Vooruit
11/18/14 – Paris, France @ Trianon

North America

10/07/14 - Atlanta, GA @ The Masquerade
10/09/14 - New Orleans, LA @ Republic New Orleans
10/10/14 - Houston, TX @ House Of Blues
10/11/14 - Mexico City, MX @ Corona Capital Music Festival
10/12/14 - Dallas, TX @ House Of Blues
10/14/14 - Tempe, AZ @ The Marquee Theatre
10/15/14 - Los Angeles, CA @ The Belasco Theater
10/16/14 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Belasco Theatre
10/17/14 - Oakland, CA @ The Fox
10/18/14 - Las Vegas, NV @ House Of Blues
10/20/14 - Denver, CO @ The Ogden
10/23/14 - Chicago, IL @ Riviera Theatre
10/24/14 - Cleveland, OH @ House Of Blues
10/25/14 - Washington, DC @ Lincoln Theatre
10/26/14 - New York, NY @ Terminal 5
10/29/14 - Boston, MA @ Royale
10/31/14 - Toronto, ON @ Danforth Music Hall
11/01/14 – Toronto, ON @ Danforth Music Hall