For this year's Hip-Hop Awards over at, a handful of influential tastemakers were brought together to make their cases and pick 2011's big winners. The panel includes Joe La Puma (Complex Magazine), Brian “B. Dot” Miller (Rap Radar), Neil Ceasar (Digiwaxx), Jayson Rodriguez (XXL Magazine), Jeff Sledge (A&R/ Guest Blogger), and Combat Jack (PNC Radio).

For the first award, the panel discusses 2011's Rookie Of The Year. Before they make their pick, artists like ASAP Rocky, Mac Miller, J. Cole, and Tyler, The Creator are all thrown in the mix for consideration. Watch the discussion above and see if you agree with the winner.

[via AlLindstrom]