T-Mobile, for all of its kinks and problems, just did something kind of awesome.  

If you're a T-Mobile user and you're on one of their Simple Choice data plans, started October 31, you can travel to up to 100+ countries and have unlimited data at your fingertips—free of charge. That's a huge thing for customers who like to travel, and we're not just talking overseas: Canada and Mexico has you covered too. Before the company announced this initiative, they charged $10 /MB when you were in Canada, and $15/MB in other countries. Other carriers, like AT&T, offer data packages when a customer goes abroad, like their $30 plan for 120MB. Now, that's not saying that T-Mobile's data speeds will be Speed Racer fast over there, but it should be decent enough for you to function without ever having to worry about a thing (other than dead zones.) Don't forget, though, that this is a company that wants to make money, so, likely, there will be other international data plans offered that will give you increased speeds. Yet, this is a smart and, dare I say, generous (?) move by the company. If you don't travel, then this means nothing to you. But when you do travel, at least you'll never know what it was like for people in the past.

And, hopefully, this puts other carriers on notice to change their plans as well. #Disruption

Here's a list of available countries under the plan:

Aland Islands, Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Barbados, Belgium, Bermuda, Bolivia, Bonaire, Brazil, British Virgin Islands, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Cayman Islands, Chile, China, Christmas Island, Colombia, Costa Rica, Curacao, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Easter Island, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, Faeroe Islands, Finland, France, French Guiana, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Guatemala, Guyana, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Kenya, Kuwait, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Martinique, Mexico, Moldova, Montserrat, Netherlands, Netherlands Antilles, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Sint Maarten, Slovakia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, St. Barthelemy, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Martin, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Svalbard, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Turks and Caicos Islands, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vatican City, Venezuela, Vietnam, Zambia

[via TechCrunch]