The 28th Annual Independent Spirit Awards were last night, a ceremony honoring independent filmmakers and films. The event was hosted by Andy Samberg—why can't they get him for the Oscars?

Silver Linings Playbook won big: Best Feature, Best Director and Best Screenplay for David O. Russell, and Best Female Lead for Jennifer Lawrence. Producer Bruce Cohen said, "We are sure we are not going to win [Best Picture] tomorrow!" 

John Hawkes won Best Male Lead for The Sessions and his costar Helen Hunt won Best Supporting Female Lead. Matthew McConaughey snagged Best Supporting Male for Magic Mike, which makes these awards more exciting than the Oscars already. 

"I had to drop my drawers to win an award," he said. 

"I have one thing to say to you, Hollywood. Fuck you. Fuck you, Oscars. This is our Oscars." Samberg said in his opening monologue. "You can keep Matthew McConaughey because we have Matthew McConaughey. So everyone say it with me, ‘Fuck you, Hollywood.’"

Stephen Chobsky won Best First Feature for The Perks of Being a Wallflower, his book that he turned into a screenplay (and directed). Safety Not Guaranteed won Best First Screenplay; watch it streaming on Netflix right now if only for a heaping dose of Aubrey Plaza.

RELATED: 25 Independent Movies You Should Be Excited About 

[via Deadline]