Breathe a sigh of relief, American Idol fans. After much teeth-gnashing, Fox has announced that Jennifer Lopez, Steven Tyler, Randy Jackson and Ryan Seacrest will return to the show next season.

“From the very first day of auditions, we knew we had something special in our new judges panel, and we’re so happy that America felt that way too,” Mike Darnell, President of Alternative Entertainment at Fox, said in a statement. “Together with Ryan – who is fantastic day in and day out – they built an incredible connection with both the contestants and our viewers, and I’m absolutely thrilled to welcome them all back to Idol for another season.”

Look for the new season of American Idol in early 2012.

[via TVLine]