You may have noticed some of the billboards that popped up across London this week, and if you did, you probably thought a new Kano LP was on the way, right? Well, you'd be right about that!  Hoodies All Summer​ has been confirmed for an August 30 release date, and with this announcement we have the first taste of the album with "Trouble", an incisive spotlight on youth violence. The 17-minute short film — directed by Aneil Karia​ — is essentially split into two parts, with "Trouble" ​following the final moments of Nathan's life and "Class Of Deja", featuring Ghetts and D Double E, in​ the aftermath of his passing.

​The first part begins with a very conscious Kano, half-singing, half-rapping over a bittersweet, soul-sampling rap instrumental. We follow Nate and his friends on the way to the shop to pick up some rice for his mum and, suddenly, they're attacked by two people who've mistaken him for someone else. Nate is tragically killed and the sombre piano line fades out. The second part picks up at Nathan's wake. We see his younger brother discovering his piano, finding a connection to his brother as he tries to make sense of it all. Meanwhile, Nate's uncle delivers an impassioned but measured speech, calling for cool heads and not to continue the cycle of "more mothers without sons". Kano then takes the mic with D Double and Ghetts to perform "Class Of Deja", going bar for bar over a choppy, bouncy grime riddim, transforming the wake into a celebration of black British culture.

"I wanted people to not be able to turn it off," Kano told VICE of the 'Trouble' video. "It's not at the end of the song, not at the beginning, it's right in the middle, right as you were having fun — because every day, as you're going through your life and having fun, this is what's happening. It's easy to turn away when it's not you or not your kid, but there you go: it's in your face right now. It's sad, man."

Hoodies All Summer lands on Aug. 30. Peep the tracklist and cover art down below.


1. Free Years Later
2. Good Youtes Walk Amongst Evil
3. Trouble
4. Pan-Fried (feat. Kojo Funds)
5. Can't Hold We Down (feat. Popcaan)
6. Teardrops
7. Bang Down Your Door
8. Got My Brandy, Got My Beats (feat. Lil Silva)
9. Class Of Deja (feat. D Double E & Ghetts)
10. SYM

'Hoodies All Summer' album cover / Image via Publicist