Starting this summer, a Louisiana ordinance went into effect allowing law enforcement to issue a ticket—rather than arresting someone—for marijuana possession. It also reduces penalties from possible jail time to a civil fine of $40 to $100 if the officer cites under local law instead of arresting under state law.

Still, Louisiana has some of the most brutal marijuana laws in the country. First-offense possession of even a single joint is punishable by up to six months in jail. Unfortunately, these laws disproportionately affect Louisiana’s African American community. A 2013 study by the ACLU found that although black and white people use marijuana at nearly identical rates, black people in Louisiana are 3.1 times more likely than white people to be arrested for marijuana possession.