Three years ago, Ars Technica discovered that the photos you deleted from Facebook were still living somewhere on the company's servers. So those embarrassing photos of you stumbling around Miami Beach weren't really gone at all. Well, we have good news: Facebook is now deleting photos from its servers as soon you tell it to. Sort of. 

In the past, if you deleted a photo, the image would no longer be in your photo gallery, but the direct URL would still work. Now those direct links will last no longer than 30 days, after that the photo will disappear into the ether. Just like you wanted it to. 

[via Ars Technica]