After a huge second round scare against 8-seeded Missouri, UCLA beat Arkansas 89-78 to win their 11th title in school history. It's UCLA's (once a not to be fucked with power) only championship in the last 35 years. Ed O'Bannon won the tournament's Most Outstanding Player Award with his signature game coming in style against the Razorbacks. In the championship, he scored 30 points to go along with 17 boards. It was without a doubt the high point of his career. He ended up going No. 9 to the Nets in the '95 Draft where he busted.

In the NBA, the Houston Rockets first dispatch MVP David Robinson and the top-seeded San Antonio Spurs (the only team that season to win over 60 games) in the Western Conference Finals; then won their second straight title with a four game sweep of Shaq and Penny's Orlando Magic (who were in their franchise's sixth year). The Rockets are still the lowest seeded team (No. 6) to ever win the Larry O'Brien Trophy and this was back in an era where only 11 teams missed the playoffs. In fact, they did it by beating the Magic as many times in their four game Finals as Orlando had lost all year on their home court (39-2).