Starting Position: 4
Race Time: 4:07:15.970
Chassis/engine: Deidt/Offy
Runner-up the two previous years, Bill Holland finally got to toss the bouquet, giving owner Lou Moore his 3rd straight Indy win. Mauri Rose was again sacked by the team after the race ignoring team orders to slow down to preserve the car.