Cat Power, aka Chan Marshall, will be releasing her first album full of original music in six years on Sept. 4. The new album, Sun, has been in the works for a while now, but a brewing split from her long-time boyfriend prompted the 40-year-old singer-songwriter to finish it up. 

"[...The break-up] wasn’t really out of left field, but it kinda was. I cut my hair off three days later, got on a plane to France and finished the shit," she told The Stool Pigeon.

Below, you can listen to the first single from Sun called "Ruin" and check out the album's tracklist as well. Pre-order Sun here.

Listen: Cat Power "Ruin"

Tracklist: Cat Power, Sun

01. Cherokee
02. Sun
03. Ruin
04. 3,6,9
05. Always On My Own
06. Real Life
07. Human Being
08. Manhattan
09. Silent Machine
10. Nothin' But Time
11. Peace And Love

[via Pitchfork]