Clip of the Morning: MLB Umpire C.B. Bucknor Accidentally Calls a Player Out After Just Two Strikes

Well, this is certainly embarrassing…

During the Yankees/Athletics game yesterday—an 18-inning affair that Oakland eventually won with a walk-off single—A's left fielder Seth Smith took a pitch right down the middle in the bottom of the 11th inning that resulted in umpire C.B. Bucknor calling him out. The only problem? The count before the pitch was two balls and one strike, meaning Bucknor punched Smith out after just two strikes. He seemed to realize the mistake he made almost immediately and looked pretty embarrassed about it. But this is why people think that MLB umpires don't have a clue.

C'mon, man! It's the bottom of the 11th inning. How does this happen?

RELATED: How Major League Baseball Lost Its Way

[via Yahoo! Sports Minute]

Stay Connected with
Complex Sports
Tags: clip-of-the-morning, mlb-umpire, cb-bucknor, umpire, strike-out
blog comments powered by Disqus