As basketball fans continue to be keep an eye on the 2018 Conference Finals matchups as the NBA Finals draw closer, it is also almost time for the NBA to select the winners for its 2017-18 regular season accolades. The NBA has officially announced the three finalists for each of its end of the year awards: MVP, Rookie of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Sixth Man of the Year, Most Improved Player, and Coach of the Year.

Most of the final nominees have shaken out as expected. For instance, the finalists for MVP include James HardenLeBron James, and Anthony Davis—a slightly surprising third option. The Rookie of the Year award has been met with heavier debate. While Jayson Tatum has shown his value deep into the playoffs with the Boston Celtics, the main argument has been between Donovan Mitchell of the Utah Jazz and Ben Simmons of the Philadelphia 76ers. While many think Simmons is more than deserving, others point out Mitchell also had a stellar season and deserves it because he is a true, first-year rookie (Simmons sat out his first year due to injury).

Other notable names include Sixers center Joel Embiid who is up for Defensive Player of the Year, Houston Rockets guard Eric Gordon who is trying to win back-to-back Sixth Man of the Year awards, and Dwane Casey who is up for the Coach of the Year award following a franchise record 59-win season despite being relieved of his duties as head coach of the Toronto Raptors following a second round sweep at the hands of the mayor of "LeBronto."

The ceremony will also be giving out awards for Executive of the Year, Teammate of the Year, the Sportsmanship Award, the Season long NBA Cares Community Assist Award, and the fan-voted Play of the Year.

Check out the full list of finalists below and tune in to the second annual NBA Awards when they air on Monday, June 25 at 9 p.m. ET on TNT. The awards will be taking place at Barker Hangar in Santa Monica, California.

Most Valuable Player

  • Anthony Davis, New Orleans Pelicans
  • James Harden, Houston Rockets
  • LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers

Defensive Player of the Year

  • Anthony Davis, New Orleans Pelicans
  • Joel Embiid, Philadelphia 76ers
  • Rudy Gobert, Utah Jazz

Rookie of the Year

  • Donovan Mitchell, Utah Jazz
  • Ben Simmons, Philadelphia 76ers
  • Jayson Tatum, Boston Celtics

Sixth Man of the Year

  • Eric Gordon, Houston Rockets
  • Fred VanVleet, Toronto Raptors 
  • Lou Williams, Los Angeles Clippers

Most Improved Player

  • Clint Capela, Houston Rockets
  • Spencer Dinwiddie, Brooklyn Nets
  • Victor Oladipo, Indiana Pacers

Coach of the Year

  • Dwane Casey, Toronto Raptors
  • Quin Snyder, Utah Jazz 
  • Brad Stevens, Boston Celtics