The NBA announced the All-Star starters tonight, and as you might expect there are plenty of storylines in the first 10 guys on the floor.

In a fairly big surprise, Stephen Curry overtook LeBron James as the leading vote-getter overall, pulling in just over 1.5 million total votes. Curry will be joined in the Western Conference backcourt (well, not actually) by Kobe Bryant, who was elected for the astonishing 17th time. The West frontcourt is loaded with the newest generation of stars, as Anthony Davis made his second consecutive All-Star team alongside Blake Griffin and Marc Gasol.

Gasol will be matched up against his brother Pau, who made the Eastern Conference roster during his first season in the new conference. In addition to James and Gasol, Carmelo Anthony of the woeful Knicks got the nod for the fifth straight year. The East backcourt will have a new look, with John Wall easily winning one of starting guard spots and being joined by first time All-Star Kyle Lowry, who overtook Dwyane Wade in the final days of voting.

All-Star weekend will come from New York this year beginning February 13th, with the All-Star game being played on the 15th at Madison Square Garden. The reserves will be announced in another special one week from tonight on January 29.

Here are the lineups, with the players’ total All-Star appearances in parenthesis:

Eastern Conference:

John Wall, Washington Wizards (2)

Kyle Lowry, Toronto Raptors (1)

LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers (11)

Carmelo Anthony, New York Knicks (8)

Pau Gasol, Chicago Bulls (5)

Western Conference:

Stephen Curry, Golden State Warriors (2)

Kobe Bryant, Los Angeles Lakers (17)

Blake Griffin, Los Angeles Clippers (5)

Anthony Davis, New Orleans Pelicans (2)

Marc Gasol, Memphis Grizzlies (2)

Send all complaints, compliments, and tips to